Skip to content

Vegan Chickpea Frittata

Yellow Vegan Frittata made from chickpeas with red grape tomatoes, green spinach, and red onion

Vegan Chickpea Frittata

Chef Victoria
This vegan chickpea frittata is a delicious breakfast or dinner that is loaded with veggies. Made with chickpea flour, nutritional yeast and plenty of spices, this dish doesn't skimp on flavor.
Prep Time 10 minutes
Cook Time 20 minutes
Course Breakfast, Main Course
Servings 6

Ingredients
  

  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon kala namak black salt or regular salt (see Tip)
  • ¼ teaspoon ground turmeric
  • ¼ teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon reduced-sodium tamari or soy sauce see Tip
  • 3 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil divided
  • 1 cup thinly sliced red onion
  • 1 cup sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 2 teaspoons finely chopped garlic
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes halved lengthwise
  • 1 cup packed fresh spinach roughly chopped

Instructions
 

  • Whisk chickpea flour, nutritional yeast, baking powder, kala namak (or salt), turmeric and pepper together in a medium bowl. Add water, lemon juice and tamari (or soy sauce); whisk until smooth.
  • Heat 1 1/2 teaspoons oil in a medium nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion, mushrooms and garlic; cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are soft, 5 to 6 minutes. Add to the chickpea mixture, along with tomatoes and spinach; stir until evenly combined. Do not wipe the pan clean.
  • Add remaining 1 1/2 teaspoons of the oil to the pan; heat over medium heat. Add the chickpea mixture; spread in an even layer. Cover and reduce heat to medium-low; cook, undisturbed, until firm and set, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from heat. Garnish with chives, if desired.

Notes

Tips:
Kala namak, or black salt, helps add an eggy flavor to this dish while still keeping it vegan. You can buy kala namak from retailers like The Spice Lab, or substitute regular salt.
People with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled “gluten-free,” as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recipe Rating